Money, money. Must be funny . . .

That ABBA song is stuck in my head, sorry if it’s now stuck in yours.

It’s been a while since I wrote a post, not because life is now boring that we don’t live in a tent, but because this post is about money and I have been sitting on it contemplating whether or not to write it up and post it.

Life is not necessarily boring here, but it is calm and that feels awesome. Here in the Bach it is so much more relaxing. There is a lot of time for sitting in the sun on the outdoor swing chair and taking naps 😉 There has been time for walking on the beach, daily. For Sam to surf, to play the guitar a lot, something I haven’t heard so much of since before we had Joey.

IMG_6846 IMG_6810

The sun shines so much more here then under the cloud covered mountain and I’ve been soaking it up like a sun-starved lizard. I have been baking bread like it’s going to disappear any day (thank the Gods for Homebrand Flour $6 for 5kgs) and . . . um . . . I, ah, may or may not now be having trouble doing up my skinny jeans.

IMG_6836 IMG_6845

Yep that’s three lots of dough rising! And me soaking up the sun 🙂

But there is is this one little thing that sort of weighs it all down and that is good ol’ money.

Its been a very strange thing to go from a very lucrative job where there was always money to being here, where we are living week to week and struggling to pay bills and are in the (apparently very lengthy) process of getting help from the government. If you happen to be thinking you need to go down this road at some point, of takig a helping hand from the Govt, I suggest you take a small brick wall with you, to bang your head against. For you know, when you go in for your 5th appointment, that’ll take approximately two hours because they haven’t met with you before and have to go over EVERYTHING again, and for some reason the same information you gave to the previous four, changes the conditions or situation.

Just. Breathe.

It sometimes makes me feel as if we’re teetering on the edge of a cliff and the tiniest thing could push us over the edge or perhaps like we’re in water up to our chins, trying desperately to stay a float so it it doesn’t cover our heads and drown us.

But despite all that, this is the calmest our lives have been in along while. I think the intention was there, with the idea of tent life but in the end it wasn’t plain sailing and it had a lot of ups and downs, in fact too many in the short amount of time that we were there. We don’t have a lot of money but we have enough, to pay rent and feed ourselves and right now that’s the most important thing. And we’re happy here and I don’t want anything you know – I mean I want stuff and if someone handed me a million bucks I’d find a big old list of things I want pretty quick, but I don’t have a desperate need to go out and have it right now – which my mum says is a sign of contentment and she’s a wise woman.

IMG_6821 IMG_6775

These little men checking out the surf

One comment

  1. Luna ☽ · October 8, 2015

    Your new sanctuary looks beautiful and I hope we will be able to visit you guys sometime soon! Dealing with W&I is the worst, put your shields up, visualise your case manager being understanding, take rose quartz with you if you have it next time and remember to cleanse the yuck energy off once you get home. Lucky you live by the sea – the ultimate healer and cleanser! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

